9 comments on “Circus Weekend

  1. I’m glad you found the positive in being camera-less.

    As I read this, I thought of somethin’ from the movie Sister Act 2. (I love Sister Act 2, but I’ve never considered it particularly insightful cinema, or ground-breaking writing by any stretch) but there’s that one part where Whoopi says to teenage Rita, “If you wake up in the morning and all you can think about is singing then girl, you are a singer. You are supposed to sing.”

    Sounds like you might be a photographer, Robin. Like, meaning yer supposed to photograph. *nods*

    And I’m not just saying that cus I wanted pictures of the circus. Well, not entirely.

  2. Just about anything with Whoopi is fun. And has the occasional good advice or insight.

    I kind of hate to admit it after carrying on up there about how I learned to live without my camera for a weekend, but I’ll ‘fess up. I was taking pictures at the circus. I just didn’t have the camera to back it up. I couldn’t help it. That’s how I can say I missed some good shots. I saw them. I just didn’t capture them. This is not a new experience.. I feel like I’ve always done this — framed life in some way or another. So yeah, maybe I’m supposed to photograph. *nods back*

    I dug out our old 35mm point & click camera (which still had film in it after at almost 2 years of being ignored). I handed it over to my husband and left him in charge of all photography. That means a new perspective for family photos and a few shots of me (so I won’t be a complete mystery to future generations…lol!).

  3. P.S. I wanted pictures of the circus, too. All that action and color!

    I’ve insisted that we have to go again next year and get the same seats.

  4. this is a lesson I’m trying to learn at the moment too
    to be in the moment rather than trying to snap the moment and then live it later

    I love photography, but there is something about being tied to that camera strap that affects one’s ability to be in the moment

    I have even entertained the thought of not taking my camera on my trip to Europe . . .

  5. It’s a good lesson to learn, Kel.

    I don’t think I could manage a trip of that magnitude (to Europe) without my camera. But I have decided that having the occasional camera-free day or weekend is something I’d like to practice.

  6. You pretty much nailed the reason I got completely away from ‘serious’ photography and for quite awhile was out of it altogether – as in, years. It kills participation if you come to be the one expected to ‘record’ everything. I don’t have the eye for it anymore myself but I sure recognize talent when I see it. **(Robin)** Good post BTW.& happy you enjoyed the weekend with Emma.

  7. Well, Robin, I love to read your words just as much as looking at the gorgeous photos you take, and this post was a great read, mainly because the love you have for your family oozes from every word you have said.

    How about “everything in moderation” for an idea? I would be lost without my photos of my family, to look back on and to remind me of the special times we have spent together. So how can we be without those “memory reminders”? We simply can’t! So, my suggestion is, take photos for a period of time, then hand the camera over to someone else. (Who knows the “someone else” may become addicted to photography too!)

    • Thanks, Joanne. :)

      I do take breaks from the camera every now and then. It’s nice, and it gives me time to catch up with the photos I’ve already taken.

Leave a Reply

