7 comments on “The whole world is self

  1. I LOVE that first shot because it likes to change depending on how you look at it. When I first saw it, I thought it was a raised foot print. It wasn’t until I saw the second shot that I realized it was really an imprint. It is a really cool optical illusion. :D

    • I am SO glad you noticed that, Fox. I have no idea how it happened (the right light, I’m guessing), but I thought the same thing when I got that shot home and looked at it. I was trying to capture something ephemeral so I took multiple shots of my footprint in the sand in an attempt to get it just as the sea was washing it away. I didn’t manage that as well as I’d hoped, but got this shot in exchange. :)

      • It reminded me of the rotating hollow mask. As it turns the hollow side to the viewer, it suddenly looks as though it is coming out at you rather than inverted away from you even though you KNOW it is not. It is an amazing effect and you’ve managed to capture it perfectly in that shot. Now that I look at them again, I’m getting the same thing looking at the second photo as well. I love illusions!

Leave a Reply

