20 comments on “Red-beet eggs and other things

  1. If it makes you feel any better, Robin… it seems that lately the most popular post on my own blog site has been “The Goddess Must Love Tattoos.”

    All those thought-provoking, meaningful posts containing beautiful prose that I put so much time and effort into writing…

    and people would rather stare at a picture of the tat on my tit.

  2. Pingback: fresh wordpress installation » Web Zen: produce zen

  3. Pingback: Traffic « Bountiful Healing

  4. Pingback: One A Day » Blog Archive » Red-beet eggs

  5. I grew up in Berks County, Penna., and our neighbor Mrs. Miller’s red-beet eggs were the best food of summer. When I moved out of the county, I was appalled to discover that they are unknown (and horrify people when described) outside that corner of Pennsylvania. Having found the recipe on your blog, I intend to make a dozen immediately. Thanks to you and your husband both.

  6. I grew up in Berks County, Penna., and our neighbor Mrs. Miller’s red-beet eggs were the best food of summer. When I moved out of the county, I was appalled to discover that they are unknown (and horrify people when described) outside that corner of Pennsylvania. Having found the recipe on your blog, I intend to make a dozen immediately. Thanks to you and your husband both.

    I include a link to my mother’s website to show that Dutch Country has changed! She is a holistic consultant (and likes red-beet eggs).

  7. Pingback: Messy desk tag « Bountiful Healing

  8. Pingback: Red beet eggs revisited « Bountiful Healing

  9. Red beet eggs are a tradition in my family – for every gathering. Am making a batch right now for the Thanksgiving feast. There are many variations on the recipe & want to mention that I add cinnamon sticks & a few whole cloves to the liquid ingredients – adds wonderful flavor! To serve, I slice the eggs in half & sprinkle a little salt, pepper & cinnamon on the eggs for a beautiful presentation & taste.

  10. I grew up near Harrisburg and the pickled red beet eggs were a tradition in our home also, and I am not even close to being PA dutch. I know a lot of black families that made these especially for picnics. I mafe them the other day they are a great treat. One thing that amazes me is the people that will not even taste them but put other things in their mouth and they don’t even know what they are or where it comes from sp,etimes. I do not have a recipe I just put the stuff in there and taste when I like the sweet to the sour ratio it is good enough for me

    • Nila: Hi and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      I had never had red beet (or pickled) eggs until I met my husband. I grew up with deviled eggs and that was about it for eggs at a picnic unless they were in the potato salad.

      I agree with you about people not even tasting them, yet being willing to eat other stuff of unknown origins.

  11. Pingback: Happy Spring Have a Happy Happy! « Girljapan’s Blog

  12. Pingback: Happy Spring Have a Happy Happy! | April Marie Claire

  13. Pingback: Happy Spring Have a Happy Happy! | So Spiffy

  14. Pingback: Finally SPRING has arrived! | So Spiffy | Girl Japan

  15. Well, I love eggs. I love beets (we call them beetroot here in Australia) so this recipe is a must-try. Such a good idea with Easter approaching. Hmm…maybe I should write my own blog about them, after I’ve made them and tried them and link it to here! I’ll see how my family responds and let you know what they say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

