9 comments on “A breezy day

  1. What an amazing picture! I love the overall green and gold color scheme.

    I’ve tried again and again to photograph dragonflies, but they just won’t hold still. How did you manage?

    • Thank you, Sharon. 🙂

      Dragonflies (and damselflies) require patience, stillness, and awareness. They fly in patterns, coming back to the same spot over and over. They also seek sunny spots most of the time (they’re cold blooded creatures). I usually look for a twig or blade of grass that will make a good landing spot, and then wait, camera ready, for a dragonfly to come along. I’ve come to know some of their favorite spots so I’m usually pretty lucky. As long as I don’t move, they’ll sit there for a while allowing me to take lots of photos. As soon as I make a move, though, off they go!

    • Thank you, Val. 🙂 I haven’t been doing much with it lately so it’s not a terribly busy blog (which is just as well since I post nearly every day at the other one!).

Leave a Reply

