13 comments on “Green, green grass

  1. I really like the first picture.

    It called to mind a pattern of conversation that I’m frequently subjected to. I’m recounting it here hoping that it amuses you. (The conversation is a bit irritating but I didn’t find the picture to be irritating and being reminded of the conversations made me chuckle).

    I am colourblind. Sometimes people try to point something out to me by describing where it is in relation to some coloured object. I tell them that I’m colourblind and so their description doesn’t help. This is typically met with complete disbelief. I don’t look like I’m in black and white so how could I possibly be colourblind. Don’t my glasses help with that? Anyway, the disbelievers then check to make sure that I’m colourblind. Typically, I’m asked two questions: what colour is that grass over there? What colour is the (clear) sky? After answering those, I’m informed that I’m not colourblind.

  2. It does amuse me, Bongo, in the way that irritating conversations can be amusing after the fact, especially if you’ve had the good sense to pull one over on the people who would ask the question “Don’t your glasses help with that?”

    Thanks for the chuckle.

  3. I love the arboretum shot, among others. There’s a smallish, shallow lake not far from my city that was stirred up by strong winds late last fall. This summer, the composition of that lake is such that it can’t cope with July heat and direct sunlight. A thick (six inches) layer of blue/green algea has formed across the lake. It recently received a health notice from the EPA or WHO that humans and animals should stay away from this water or risk ill health affects. While it’s a beautiful green color, apparently the odor coming off the lake is that of rotten eggs. So green has the ability to make us smile and make us sick as well.

  4. That’s true, UtterChaos. I know I’ve felt “green around the gills” more than a few times throughout my life.

    I don’t appreciate the green of our pond when it’s caused by duckweed or algae, but at least it doesn’t put off a bad odor.

  5. The praying mantis picture was my favorite, and muir woods was a close second.

    That green bird at the National Aviary is so awesomely green, it almost looks like a neon creature juxtaposed over a somber landscape.

  6. Thanks.

    I combined two patterns into one. Kids more often ask about the glasses and I don’t feel that it is appropriate to mislead kids. Adults don’t tend to ask that particular question. If one ever did, I think I’d feel compelled to fill their head with something completely absurd. On second thought, it has happened and that’s what I did. I wish I could remember it but remembering things that make no sense is a bit difficult for me.

    I did have a really fun time once with a pair of friends. Two of us were colourblind and the third wasn’t. A discussion of colourblindness came up and we did do some “what colour is this thing?” type of questions. We colourblind folks were able to agree immediately and were often dead wrong. The coloursighted person felt quite disconcerted at not being able to join our consensus reality. All of that conversation was warm hearted and interestingly investigative and I think we all learned something from it.

  7. Fantastic images. Muir Woods is beautiful. The Mummer shots are also great.

    I like the motion in Grass on the Hill. I wish there was a bit of horizon or sky to contrast with the green and give it some perspective.

    Send me an email, Robin, I’m interested in what you are using for gear. Consider an account on photo.net. These shots would match up against the best there.

  8. this looks so much more peaceful than the war/battleground site at Brandywine

    september 11, 1777

  9. Pingback: Spiritual Zen - Today Top Blog Posts on Spiritual Development - Powered by SocialRank

  10. Pingback: Francisco Wedding Gown

  11. Pingback: Green | breezes at dawn

Leave a comment